“You were expecting someone else?” : TimeGate 2013

This year marks the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who, and TimeGate did something amazing: they brought a Doctor to the states. And not just any Doctor, the Sixth Doctor. Colorful, crazy, passionate — these are all words that could describe the sixth incarnation of the time lord, but for the actor underneath the rainbow-colored coat, Colin Baker, he was wonderful, generous, and kind. Baker is the second Doctor I’ve met (Sylvester McCoy was my first, and also wonderful and hilarious) and I can’t tell you how it warms my heart to see the people who were involved with the long-running show are as passionate about it as the fans themselves.

Speaking of passion, I spent most of my time as a panelist on the Cosworlds track, which accounts for a huge lack of pictures on my part. Friday night, on the first panel up I got to ask Steve Gostelow (a Classic Who era Cyberman) and Valerie Halverson (Stargate costume designer) what their toughest on-set challenges were and how they overcame them. I also shared my knowledge of New Who costuming, from finding alternatives to screen accurate items and getting the look just right. Case in point: this Donna Noble costume I put together for my friend Tonya. It’s not screen accurate by any means, but it’s close enough. The dress and sweater (which Tonya altered) cost under $10 dollars at Goodwill. Costuming can be inexpensive fun–it just depends on how far you want to go.

tumblr_m38xhi78Hm1qetwwko1_500

971975_10201147194622889_948766600_n

Saturday, I showcased props I’ve made and touched on the importance of etiquette with interacting with other cosplayers and congoers alike. Doctor Who is very popular, but as a costumer, I find I’m constantly running into the same people or know of the same people, so it’s important to be respectful no matter how novice or experienced a cosplayer is. We’re all in this–and wearing silly costumes–together. Race and gender are also issues that arise and all I can say, if you love a character, cosplay him or her, and OWN IT. ENJOY IT.

296176_10201147045139152_359674543_n

Here’s a few of my favorite photos from this weekend, showcasing all my cosplays.

alltherivers

25e66178-2bc4-4493-b69d-0882076e0d7b_zps8a2bb57b179704_10201147034938897_1159921856_nSunday, my husband–who adores Colin Baker, as he considers him his Doctor–finally got to meet the man himself. “Well don’t be shy, come here,” he said, offering us a warm embrace before taking a photo with us. I think it shows on the husband’s face, just a little bit.

969415_10201147265424659_1994819826_n

Thank you Colin Baker–and thank you TimeGate for making this year so special. I can’t wait to see what 2014 holds for this fabulous fan convention!

And if you’d like to keep up with my upcoming cosplay projects, please Like All Back to Front!

One thought on ““You were expecting someone else?” : TimeGate 2013

Leave a Reply

