Geek Outfit of the Week: Dark Shadows

I may have mentioned it once or twice, but I have one of the coolest moms ever. Loving, caring, and funny, she’s always been one to champion my creativity–whether it was writing poems or putting together crazy costumes. So, for Mother’s Day, I wanted to do something fun, so I took her the latest Tim Burton-Johnny Depp collaboration, also known as Dark Shadows.

Mom used to tell me about the original show when I was younger, and I guess I can technically blame her for my obsession with proper [non-sparkling] vampires. When I was younger, we’d also watch Tim Burton movies on HBO together. Batman and Edward Scissorhands were in infinite rotation in what would now be referred to as my “tween” years. Batman Returns was one of the first PG-13 movies my mom took me too, so it seems fitting I take her to Dark Shadows, so many years later.

I, along with my mother, adored it. It’s classic, madcap, off-kilter Burton, one I feel has been missing for a while. It had the humor of Bettlejuice with a touch of horror a la Sweeney Todd. And of course, there’s Mr. Depp: funny, ridiculous, maddening and romantic all at once. All the reasons I had a serious pop culture-induced crush on him at 13. The costumes synthsized the romance of the 1700s with the neon of the 1970s.

This film—along with Fright Night, featuring David Tennant—have brought vampires back where they belong: out of mid-sized sedans and J. Crew peacoats and back into coffins and the dark encompassing shadows.

I approve.

[Black dress, red scarf as belt, choker and black oynx ring: vintage / Crucifix earrings: Charming Charlies / Shoes: Irregular Choice / Cool vintage photo filter via Dark Shadows site]

I hope everyone had a very Happy Mother’s Day, with your mother, aunt, grandmother or other special lady of your life.

Leave a Reply

