For Your Ears Only: Samantha Newark

Last night, I had some friends over for Korean food and wine, and while we caught up and chilled out, I searched my iTunes for some fun dance music. I instantly gravitated to Samantha Newark’s new album Somethin’ Good, which I have been playing constantly since I bought it.

Most famous for being the speaking voice of Jem/Jerrica on Jem and the Holograms, Samantha is an accomplished singer and songwriter. I had the pleasure of meeting her and seeing her perform in 2009 and 2010 at Con Nooga. More importantly, Samantha is gracious and sweet to every Jem girl or boy that comes to her fan table. Besides Madonna, Jem and the Holograms probably had the deepest impact on my childhood, so getting to meet her and tell her how much her work meant to me was a big moment.

[Additionally, did you know she was the voice of Peter Pan’s mother in Hook? Because Hook rules.]

Me (cosplaying Rose Tyler) and Samantha @ Con Nooga 2010.

Samantha’s style is a cool mix of dance pop and trip hop. Think Imogen Heap/Frou Frou meets Kylie Minogue or Ray of Light-era Madonna. So whether you want to dance or just chill out, she’s got you covered.

This is my favorite song from her self-titled album.

She also pays tribute to all her truly outrageous fangirls and boys with her track Jemboy.

And this is a fun Jem video mash up featuring a track from her second album. I find it totally awesome to see Samantha’s singing synced up with Jem animation. [Britta Phillips, another accomplished singer, was the singing voice for Jem.]

Buy Samantha’s self titled album @ CDBaby.com.

Buy Samantha’s second album, Somethin’ Good from her website.

Leave a Reply

