Geek Outfit of the Week: May the Fourth Be With You.

This week’s geek outfit of the week is being brought to you a tiny bit late, due to being out of town at the time. When a couple of friends graciously asked us to join them for a weekend getaway in Atlanta, I jumped at the chance to get out of town and recharge.

Friday night found us getting ready to go BLT Steak Atlanta. Since it was May the Fourth and Star Wars geeks were filling my Facebook Timeline up with all sorts of Jedi-related spam, I quickly threw together an outfit that was elegant but made me think of everyone’s favorite scoundrel-loving princess.

[Dress: Vintage Antony Richards / Necklace, bracelet and headband: Forever21 / Sandals: Faded Glory / Bag: David Bitton Buffalo]

So many stars to save.

R2, is that you?

Obi Wan Kenobi, you’re my only hope!

Starstruck.

Planet Noir.

Now, let’s talk about food. It’s a topic I haven’t covered much here yet, but I really am a foodie at heart. Good food, drink, and company is one of my favorite past times. There was much to be had at BTL Steak Atlanta.

We were greated by warm chicken pate and bread.

Then I decided on tuna tartare, layered with avacado and a sweet soy sauce and served with handmade potato chips.

Then I ordered roasted duck breast and foie gras. Because I’d never had it before. Dear little ducks, I’m sorry, but you really are delicious.

Kim ordered a steak with the bone left in. Then they brought him roasted bone marrow, something I’ve seen in a million cook books lately but have never tried. So I stole that, too.

Now, before you think I’m some sort of perverse carnivore, I’ve been a vegetarian off and on throughout my life, typically failing for a variety of reasons being related to living in the South. (How do you live without fried chicken?! Or fresh seafood?) When given the chance, I’m excited to try anything. If I don’t like it, I won’t order it again.

Roasted bone marrow is tasty meat butter. I might have to make Nigella Lawson’s recipe at some point soon.

Did I mention they brought us these tasty Gruyère cheese popovers?

And teeny tiny chocolate chip cookies?

I’ve eaten a lot of good meals in my day–birthdays and anniversaries are typical occasions where we go all out–but I have to say this might rank as the best meal I’ve ever had.

Thanks, Travis and Rachel. You are truly awesome people.

Me and my scoundrel had a weekend that was out of this world!

Leave a Reply

