Lazy Brunch a la Liz Taylor.

“Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick, and pull yourself together.” – Elizabeth Taylor

Like fellow bloggers Hope and Angelina, I was deeply saddened by the passing of Dame Elizabeth Taylor. When I was little, my mother and I would watch her movies when I was on summer break–Cleopatra, Raintree County, and Elephant Walk all come to mind–and her perfume ads filled the magazines and Avon catalogues on our living room coffee table. In our household, she was seen as a symbol of class, beauty, and strength, as well as someone with excellent taste in jewels.

With her passing also came the auction of her amazing collection of clothing, jewelry, luggage, and art. I’d scroll through the online catalogue, oohing and ahhing over her impeccable taste and overwhelming wealth. My favorite discovery was the Gina Fratini gown she wore to her second wedding to Richard Burton.

Who needs white? Not Elizabeth Taylor, obviously.

Through her lifetime, Dame Taylor struggled with health problems and a fluctuating waist line, but no matter where or who she was with, she was Elizabeth Taylor and she was stunning.

Sundays are lazy days, filled with brunches and paging through novels.  While I may be momentarily tempted to wear printed pj pants and hoodies for late-night grocery shopping, I thought I’d take a cue from Ms. Taylor’s closet and wear a kaftan to brunch.

To make mine more fashion forward, I added a vintage belt, slipped on some bejeweled sandals, put my hair in a messy bun and voila, and it’s time for cocktails!

[Vintage kaftan, thrifted / Belt, thrifted / Earrings and bracelet: Forever21 / Sandals: Miss Trish For Target]

Kaftans are classy and comfortable, just like sipping a pineapple mojito! Cheers and enjoy your lazy Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Lazy Brunch a la Liz Taylor.

  1. Awesome tribute to Liz Taylor (RIP) and her eccentric wardrobe and costumery, which I always loved! And what a gorgeous caftan you’re rocking!

    My mother has several of these, worn on special occasions. She also claims I’m not “woman” enough to wear one yet 😛 One day…one day…

Leave a Reply

